Tuesday, August 7, 2012 | | By: Febi

Mohd Azizulhasni, Yeoh Advance To Next Stage

LONDON, Aug 7 (Bernama) -- National track cyclist Mohd Azizulhasni Awang cruised to the second round of the Men's Keirin event while Yeoh Ken Nee advanced to the final of Men's 3m Springboard when morning events ended here Tuesday.

The second round of the men's keirin will be held at 16.30pm London time (11.30pm M'sian time) while the final for the diving starts at 7pm London time (2am Malaysian time), today.

In the first round of the men's keirin, Mohd Azizulhasni, raced in Heat 3 together with Joseph Volece (Can), Fabian Hernando Puerta Zapata (Col), Denis Spicka (Cze), Mikael Bourgain (Fra) and Volikakis Christos (Gre).

In the eight-lap competition, Mohd Azizulhasni finished second behind French rider Bourgain.

Only the two top riders in each Heat automatically qualify for the second round.

In the second round, Mohd Azizulhasni will face an uphill task after being drawn together alongside defending Olympics keirin champion, Chris Hoy, winner of three gold medals at the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

Besides Hoy, other riders in the group are Juan Peralta Gascon (Spn), Christoy Volikakis (Gre), Teun Mulder (Ned) and Nicholas Phillip Njisane (Tri).

Besides Hoy, another established rider in the Heats is Nedherlands Mulder who is also the former world champion and world cup keirin winner.

Yeoh clinched the last spot of 12 divers who made the cut for the final after collecting 441.65 points in the semifinals of the Men's 3m Springboard. 

From Zulhilmi Supaat-- BERNAMA


Post a Comment